A Few New Projects!

[Cross posted at Schrodingers Box]

First is one of the Knight Models 30mm pieces, Obi-Wan Kenobi. This is a lovely little sculpt and I am looking forward to more progress on him. So far he has been primed, undercoated in black and then his robe has been airbrushed with some cast shadows being applied (These are not very clear in the pic).

Next up is Rob Lane’s Grenadier Guard bust from the Crimean War. This is a lovely sculpt in my opinion and and I have always liked looking at Steve Walker’s version of this. Again, as with the Obi-Wan piece, all that has been done is a primers coast, undercoat in black and then I have started work on the busby and jacket with the airbrush. The jacket was airbrushed in Scarlet and then the cast shadow was applied with a mix of Scarlet and German Tanker Black. This came out of a conversation at Euro with Rob and Gerry Larkin about shading red (the fun we have!). Gerry suggested using Paynes Grey because of it neutral tones. The closest to this in acrylics is Vallejo’s German Tanker Black, which I think works quite well. Some highlight were applied using Amaranth Red. That shine does not exist in real life, promise.

For me the best bit about this is that I have proved that I can still use an airbrush as my last piece, Immlemann, was a step back in my opinion.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑